Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Drinking And Its Negative Effect On You Life
Christian Forums > List Of Christian Forums > Prayer Requests Online
chisholm
I wanted to relate to anyone interested in an evaluation of the utter waste of a life centered around drink and its effect mentally and physically.

I am a retired 64-year-old man from corporate America after almost 31 years with the same company. I worked in customer service related jobs and in a technical support capacity. Since I had very little college education and any real skill sets, I considered myself lucky to have been employed for so long. I did attend many technical schools provided by the company and was gratified that my performance was rewarded by promotion to a second level manager. I retired from this position nearly 5 years ago.

I was one of those individuals that worked all the time fearing I would lose my job if I did not outwork everyone around men. I failed my family and kept to myself over the years which made me a very lonely individual. My whole world was work and I never made time for anything else that really was important.

I was a heavy smoker and drinker for a number of those years. I quit the smoking many years ago but went back to it from time to time. Finally I gave it up totally many months ago.

In addition, I was a drinker. I was not a heavy drinker but after retirement, the drinking escalated. I became for all practical purposes an alcoholic. I just could not face the fact that I was not working any more.

I know this seems to many as a very stupid way to think. One ought to be happy to get the chance to retire but not me. I even moved to Florida in hopes that happiness would follow. I am still miserable and suffer from stress, mental anguish and anxiety. I am subject to panic attacks as well.